Pretty Little Polka Dots

Big, little, colorful or monochromatic – polka dots are pretty and I am a little obsessed. There is something about the polka dot that feels so fun and there is definitely a bounce in my polka-dotted step when I wear anything with a few playful dots.

When in Seattle this summer – a Modern Mom – must shop. I spotted the cutest little polka dot chambray skirt on a fly-by in a department store as we were trying to get the Mini’s to supper before they started eating each other.  As we were speed walking by the clothing displays my words to Mr. Modern and the Minis were ‘Look at that cute…….’ and we were gone. We may have left the skirt behind that evening but I was not leaving Seattle before trying that skirt on.   So on our last day in Seattle I said to the Moderns – ‘I don’t care what you all do this evening…but …I am going to try that skirt on.’  Mr. Modern looked at me like I was a crazy person – but I didn’t care – I went, I tried on, I bought and I am giddy every time I get to wear my polka dots.

polka dot skirt 5 new

There are so many reasons to love my little polka dot skirt:

• I can be really chic and girly and pair the skirt with a pretty top and heels • I can mix it with different patterns and textures •The skirt is multi- seasonal.  Spring, Summer or Fall – here my polka dot skirt comes (not too sure about winter yet – but winter is coming so I may think of a winter use for my skirt yet) •   Shoes with the skirt are not an issue – Sandals, ballet flats, heels or boots – they all work

Outfit:  Lace Top – Talula, Polka Dot Skirt – Maison Jules, Shoes – so old I can’t even read the name anymore!  They are my one of my favourite pairs and I can’t bear to throw them away – they go with everything!

Polka Dot Heels Collage

polka dot skirt boots newGoing into Fall I can also have a little fun in my polka dot skirt. Who doesn’t like to jump in a pile of leaves in a skirt!  The chambray is very versatile so going into Fall I like to ‘toughen up’ my pretty polka dot skirt with boots and a jacket or sweater.

I love the idea of the feminine skirt with pretty pleats and buttons and then pairing it with boots that are a little more masculine.  I could also work this look with a more feminine pair of boots and a flowy top if I wasn’t feeling the tougher boot look.

Outfit:  Moto Jacket – The Gap, Polka Dot Skirt – Maison Jules, Boots – Steve Madden

Polka Dot Boots Collage

3 thoughts on “Pretty Little Polka Dots

  1. Hello, I know this may sound really weird, but I need that Maison Jules skirt as a cosplay and since it’s sold out, I can’t find it anywhere. If you ever decide you’d sell it (I don’t have high hopes, but asking anyway) I’d love to buy it with paypal. Let me know, thanks in advance, Sani x

    Like

Comment

