Sample Sunday – Make Up Forever Powder Foundation Beauty Review

This Sunday I rifled through my sample box and tried out Make Up For Ever’s Pro Finish Multi Use Powder Foundation.  I received this sample with one of my recent Sephora purchases.  I wasn’t sure what to think of the powder foundation but I’m always ready to try new things so I kept an open mind.  The sample came with 4 different  foundation colors (with a hope that one of the colors was a ‘good enough’ match to your skin tone) to sample.  The Pro Finish Powder Foundation is a little different than other power foundations as you can apply the powder dry or wet.  With each application you achieve a different finished look.  If applied dry the finish is a full coverage, matte finish and if applied wet the coverage is a sheer semi-matte finish.  I tried both applications (dry and wet) to see if there was a difference and which finish I preferred.

As a rule I am a liquid foundation user so I was interested to see if I could maybe be converted to a powder foundation.  I like the coverage of a liquid foundation and I have my daily ‘go-to’ liquid foundation and my ‘party face’  liquid foundation that has a little more coverage and provides a good base for the rest of my make-up.

My first test was the dry application of the Pro Finish and I was pleasantly surprised.  I used a face primer prior to the application of the powder (as I always do prior to my foundation application) and applied the sample.  The coverage was pretty good – the powder went on smoothly and did not feel heavy like some liquid foundations can feel.  I have some redness in my cheeks and on my nose and found that the coverage over these areas was not as camouflaging as a liquid foundation.  I did not use any type of concealer under the powder which may have helped with the redness – but I don’t always want to have to apply a concealer with my foundation.  If the sample of the Pro-Finish included a little more in the sample then I could maybe have layered the foundation to see if the coverage was a little better.  I think I could use the dry application of the foundation as a weekend coverage when I don’t need the fuller foundation coverage.

The wet application of the foundation looked the same if not a little better than the dry application.   The foundation went on smoothly and I found the coverage to be a little better than the dry application (which is contradictory to the advertising)  but what can I say – I found that the wet application provided a little better coverage on my face.  Perhaps my longing for my liquid foundation made the wet application of the foundation a winner for me.

At the end of my day – I think that the Pro Finish Foundation is an excellent in your purse foundation for middle of the day touch ups.   The foundation comes in a compact and goes on smoothly in the wet or dry application so it makes it easy to pop into the washroom and quickly touch up your mid-day face with great results.

Make-Up Forever Pro Finish Foundation

One thought on “Sample Sunday – Make Up Forever Powder Foundation Beauty Review

Comment

